laboratoire pierre aigrain
électronique et photonique quantiques
 
laboratoire pierre aigrain
 

Optical and electronic properties of nano-objects


This activity is organized into three experimental groups which are all supported by a daily interaction with the condensed matter theoreticians within the LPA:


- The Coherent and Non-Linear Optics Group is interested in the optical properties of nano-objects, which can be either semiconductor based heterostructures (quantum dots, microcavities...) or less classical materials like carbon nanotubes. Various and sophisticated technics of coherent and non-linear optics are used.


- Ultra-fast THz spectroscopy has become a powerful technique for investigating a large variety of domains, in particular semiconductor nanostructures and their intra-band transitions. The Ultra-Fast THz Spectroscopy Group recently started this experimental activity at LPA and applies it to investigate and improve THz quantum cascade lasers.


- The THZ/IR Magnetospectroscopy Group investigates semiconductor nanostructure devices in the infrared range using precise transport measurements under magnetic field, and sensitive infrared or THz magnetospectroscopy.

laboratoire pierre aigrain
électronique et photonique quantiques
 
laboratoire pierre aigrain
 

Propriétés optiques et électroniques des nano-objets



Cette activité est organisée en trois groupes expérimentaux qui interagissent tous fortement avec les théoriciens du LPA :


- Le Groupe Optique Cohérente et Non-Linéaire s’intéresse aux propriétés optiques de nano-objets tels que les nanostructures de semiconducteurs (boîtes quantiques, microcavités...) ou les nanotubes de carbone, en utilisant des techniques sophistiquées de spectroscopie optique et d’optique non-linéaire.


- La spectroscopie THz ultra-rapide est une technique expérimentale très puissante qui peut être appliquée dans de nombreux domaines, en particulier dans celui des nanostructures de semiconducteur. Le Groupe Spectroscopie THz Ultra-Rapide a récemment développé un dispositif expérimental qui permet par exemple d’étudier e d’améliorer le fonctionnement des lasers à cascade quantique.


- Le Groupe THZ/IR Magnetospectroscopy étudie des dispostifs semiconducteurs dans la gamme infrarouge en utilisant des mesures de transport sous champ magnétique et des expériences de magnétospectroscopie infrarouge ou THz.